A person doesn’t even need to ride motorcycles to know about the most important piece of safety gear. If you were to ask any random adult, they will most likely tell you that a helmet is crucial for someone on a motorcycle.
For riders and passengers in Mississippi, helmets are also required under law. Anytime you go for a ride, you need to put a motorcycle helmet on first. Failing to do so is a violation of Mississippi’s traffic laws. Not only do you increase your risk of suffering a severe injury in a crash, but you could get pulled over and ticketed by the police.
What’s the penalty for breaking the helmet law?
A violation of the Mississippi motorcycle helmet requirement law is a misdemeanor offense. You may have to pay a fine of up to $100, and a judge could sentence you to up to 10 days in jail.
The fine and potential jail time both double for a second offense within one year of the first. If someone has three helmet offenses within one year in Mississippi, the fine they have to pay could be $500, and they could face up to six months in prison.
The state expects that you will have a helmet that properly covers your head and that fits appropriately. The state does not mandate a specific style, but the best helmets will protect your face in addition to your skull. A helmet that meets Department of Transportation standards or has its sticker of approval will offer the most protection.
Helmets are a smart investment, anyway
Wearing a helmet every time you go for a ride means that you won’t get pulled over for a minor infraction. It also means that if you get into a crash, your chances of suffering a severe injury are slightly lower. You won’t have partial responsibility for your injuries, as you will have taken the appropriate steps to keep yourself safe by wearing the right gear.
Motorcyclists in Mississippi should remember that the same rule applies to their passengers and only take riders if those individuals have a helmet or the motorcyclist has a spare to offer. Complying with Mississippi’s motorcycle helmet laws can reduce your risk of getting hurt and make it easier for you to seek compensation if you do get into a crash.